Site sections: Home | Bands A-Z | Reviews | Great Rock Songs | Store   

Foo Fighters

In Your Honor (June 2005)

Track listing:

Disc One
  1. In Your Honor
  2. No Way Back
  3. Best Of You
  4. DOA
  5. Hell
  6. The Last Song
  7. Free Me
  8. Resolve
  9. The Deepest Blues Are Black
  10. End Over End
Disc Two
  1. Still
  2. What If I Do?
  3. Miracle
  4. Another Round
  5. Friend Of A Friend
  6. Over And Out
  7. On The Mend
  8. Virginia Moon
  9. Cold Day In The Sun
  10. Razor

I will be writing a proper review of this album soon, but in the meantime here are my initial thoughts.

The songs on disc 1 (which contains the heavier material) are of a good standard though there are few obvious singles. The band is definitely still playing hard and with tons of energy, which is good to see after several years together. I find "DOA" (their new single) to be particularly good. The Foo Fighters' typical ingredients are present on many songs: screaming melodically, heart-pounding drumming (listen to the first single, "Best of You", for example), clever and well integrated dual-guitar riffs and an upbeat pace and feel.

I've only listened to disc 2 (which contains more mellow material) a couple of times and that's indicative of my feeling that this is the weaker collection. In parts it gets boring, but before I commit fully to this view I will have to listen to it a few more times. Bits here and there are reminiscent of Kurt Cobain's ultra-smooth crooning on Nirvana songs such as "Something in the Way".

More coming soon!

Home | Bands A-Z | Reviews | About | Links
© 2004-2024 - Programming/Design by